Basho and Jung turns One!

by Jon Petruschke

Today is the one year anniversary of when I began Basho and Jung! Some days I swore the haiku gods were against me and nothing I wrote seemed worthy of my blog. And other days just getting to a computer to post one measly haiku felt as easy as mud wrestling with dinosaurs. But I did it. Every single day over the last year I posted a dream haiku. Some days more than one. And…this is just the beginning.  I have many dreams yet to dream and haiku yet to write, and I will continue to share them with you. A change I’ll be making to Basho and Jung is that I’ll no longer be posting on Saturdays and Sundays. I’m giving myself weekends off. Yes, sadly that means no more R Rated Saturdays. But don’t worry, I’ll continue to post titillating (or offensive, depending on your tastes) haiku here and there.

Thank you everyone who has been reading and following my blog. I appreciate all of you very much! It’s great getting your comments, likes, retweets, and general love.

Here’s a picture of me when I was only one.

one year old

I remember that itchy winter outfit. My grandmom knitted it for me. I also remember seeing it a winter or two later and asking my mom if I could wear it, and her telling me I had outgrown it.  But she never got rid of it. She packed it up to store and keep and remember. I stumbled upon it recently in my parents’ attic when I was visiting them over the holidays. And my mom had forgotten it was there. So many memories and mysteries have shown up in my dreams over the last year. Each night I go to sleep excited, wondering who and what will visit me next.

Before I sign off, here is today’s What the hell?! Wednesday haiku. Enjoy!

And if you twirl this
bouquet of haiku, you’ll rise
into the sky.